Friday, November 7, 2008

Mike Mussina Wins the Cy Young

Okay, he didn't, but he did win a gold glove which is just as good only decidedly less impressive. I don't know who won the other gold gloves in the AL, but here is a list I made up:

1B: Mark Teixeira
2B: Not Robinson Cano
SS: Derek Jeter
3B: Wilson Betemit
C: Joe Mauer
LF: Carl Crawford
CF: Justin Upton
RF: Rocko Baldelli

So congratulations to all these honorary "Respect Jeter's Gangster" gold glove winners. If any of them actually won a gold glove it makes this honor that much more special. I did hear that Maddux won his 18th gold glove. I think he should melt them into one giant gold glove that also doubles as a throne so when he retires he can sit in his gold glove throne on his lawn and yell obsenities at passer by's.

Okay, so I didn't have much to report today, but working on a blog in the biggest baseball market in the world demands daily posts lest the fans grow bored and start reading about the Mets. We can't afford to fall behind the competition. Expect these kind of reports not just from blogs across the Yankee blogosphere, but also from major newspapers as they need to fill their daily report quota whether there's news to report or not.

3 comments: said...

Yeah, it's hard work being a blogger when there's no news to report (or parody). I went the Yankeeography route and made one up for Teixeira. Sort of.

Fernando Alejandro said...

I love it Jane. I want Teixeira, but so does everyone else. If only we hadn't spent $26 million just for the rights to negotiate with Kei Igawa. It could go a long way right now.

raven said...

And I'm still craving for Johan Santana, Roy Halladay, Josh Hamilton and Philly Phanatic.